Ram oil and fluids

What oil does a Ram take?

The oil each Ram engine takes and how many quarts an oil change with filter needs, for 9 engines — from Ram's own US owner's manuals where they're published, each with its source. Look your car up by VIN for the exact engine, or find it in the list below.

Free. We decode the VIN with NHTSA's public decoder to get the make, model year and engine size, then match the engine in our tables.

Or choose the make and engine yourself:

Free · no signup · the engine size is in the owner's manual and on the original window sticker

By engine

2.4 Tigershark MultiAir2 I4 — Jeep Renegade, Ram ProMaster City · 2015–2022

Engine oil
FCA MS-6395 · API Certified · 0W-20(2016–2018 · Renegade (2016 User Guide, 2018 manual) — ProMaster City handbook not retrieved)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Renegade: 'only recommends 0W-20 engine oils that are API Certified and meet the requirements of FCA Material Standard MS-6395.'
Oil change with filter
5.5 quarts (5.2 liters)(Renegade (2016, 2018 manuals))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Oil capacity
5.2 liters(ProMaster City (2021 press spec sheet))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
'Oil Capacity 5.5 quarts (5.2 liters)' — press sheet, filter not stated.
Coolant
FCA MS.90032 — Mopar Antifreeze/Coolant 10 Year/150,000 Mile Formula OAT (Organic Additive Technology)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Every manual checked (2015-2026) names OAT coolant to MS.90032; the 2014 Dodge Dart manual names the earlier Chrysler OAT standard MS-12106. 'Should not be mixed with Hybrid Organic Additive Technology (HOAT) engine coolant (antifreeze) or any "globally compatible" coolant'; not designed for propylene-glycol coolant. The same coolant is specified for intercooler, motor-generator, power-electronics and battery circuits. Capacity varies by vehicle, engine and towing package — read the manual's Fluid Capacities table.
Brake fluid
DOT 4
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Renegade: 'Mopar DOT 4. If DOT 4 brake fluid is not available, then DOT 3 is acceptable. DOT 4 brake fluid must be changed every 2 years.' ProMaster City brake-fluid type not confirmed (its schedule also changes brake fluid every two years).

Used in: Jeep Renegade 2.4 (2015-2021), Ram ProMaster City (2015-2022)Shared engine — also sold as Jeep

3.0 EcoDiesel V6 (Gen 3) · 2020–2023

Engine oil
FCA MS-12991 · API SN · 5W-40(2020–2020 · Ram 1500 EcoDiesel)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
'5W-40 synthetic engine oil such as Mopar that meets FCA Material Standard MS-12991 and the API SN engine oil category is required.'
Engine oil
FCA MS-12991 · API SP · 5W-40(2023–2023 · Ram 1500 EcoDiesel)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
'5W-40 synthetic engine oil such as Mopar that meets the manufacturer Material Standard MS-12991 and the API SP engine oil category is required.'
Engine oil
FCA MS-12991 · ACEA A3/B4 · API SN/SP · 5W-40(2023–2023 · Wrangler EcoDiesel)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
'Mopar API Certified SAE 5W-40 Full Synthetic Engine Oil which meets the requirements of the manufacturer Material Standard MS-12991. Equivalent full synthetic SAE 5W-40 engine oil can be used but must be compliant to API SN/SP and ACEA A3/B4 specifications.'
Oil change with filter
8.5 quarts (8 liters)(Ram 1500 (2020 and 2023 manuals))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Oil change with filter
9 quarts (8.5 liters)(Wrangler (2023 manual))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Coolant
FCA MS.90032 — Mopar Antifreeze/Coolant 10 Year/150,000 Mile Formula OAT (Organic Additive Technology)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Every manual checked (2015-2026) names OAT coolant to MS.90032; the 2014 Dodge Dart manual names the earlier Chrysler OAT standard MS-12106. 'Should not be mixed with Hybrid Organic Additive Technology (HOAT) engine coolant (antifreeze) or any "globally compatible" coolant'; not designed for propylene-glycol coolant. The same coolant is specified for intercooler, motor-generator, power-electronics and battery circuits. Capacity varies by vehicle, engine and towing package — read the manual's Fluid Capacities table.
Brake fluid
DOT 3 · SAE J1703
Manufacturer-publishedSource
US-designed Jeep, Ram, Dodge and Chrysler models: 'Mopar DOT 3 Brake Fluid, SAE J1703'; manuals up to about 2019 add 'If DOT 3 ... is not available, then DOT 4 is acceptable'. The 2023-2024 Wrangler and 2023 Ram 1500 manuals print 'SAE J1709' — apparently a misprint for J1703 (later manuals print J1703 again). Italian-designed models (Renegade, Hornet, ProMaster, ProMaster City) take DOT 4 changed every two years — see their engine entries.

Used in: Ram 1500 EcoDiesel (2020-2023), Jeep Wrangler EcoDiesel (2020-2023), Jeep Gladiator EcoDiesel (2021-2023)Shared engine — also sold as Jeep

3.0 Hurricane twin-turbo I6 — Ram 1500 · 2025 on

Engine oil
FCA MS-6395 · API SP (API SN PLUS also acceptable) · 0W-20(2025–2025 · Standard Output)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
'Mopar SAE 0W-20 Full Synthetic Engine Oil, which meets the requirements of the manufacturer Material Standard MS-6395. Equivalent full synthetic SAE 0W-20 engine oil can be used but must have the API Starburst trademark with a certification level of API-SP or later. API-SN+ is also acceptable.' Earlier API levels 'can result in engine' damage.
Engine oil
FCA MS-A0921 · API SP (API SN PLUS also acceptable) · 0W-40(2025–2025 · High Output)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
'Mopar API Certified SAE 0W-40 Full Synthetic Engine Oil, which meets the requirements of the manufacturer Material Standard MS-A0921. Equivalent full synthetic SAE 0W-40 engine oil can be used but must have the API Donut trademark with a certification level of API-SP or later. API-SN+ is also acceptable.'
Oil change with filter
7.5 quarts (7.1 liters)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
One '3.0L Engine' row covers Standard and High Output.
Coolant
FCA MS.90032 — Mopar Antifreeze/Coolant 10 Year/150,000 Mile Formula OAT (Organic Additive Technology)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Every manual checked (2015-2026) names OAT coolant to MS.90032; the 2014 Dodge Dart manual names the earlier Chrysler OAT standard MS-12106. 'Should not be mixed with Hybrid Organic Additive Technology (HOAT) engine coolant (antifreeze) or any "globally compatible" coolant'; not designed for propylene-glycol coolant. The same coolant is specified for intercooler, motor-generator, power-electronics and battery circuits. Capacity varies by vehicle, engine and towing package — read the manual's Fluid Capacities table.
Brake fluid
DOT 3 · SAE J1703
Manufacturer-publishedSource
US-designed Jeep, Ram, Dodge and Chrysler models: 'Mopar DOT 3 Brake Fluid, SAE J1703'; manuals up to about 2019 add 'If DOT 3 ... is not available, then DOT 4 is acceptable'. The 2023-2024 Wrangler and 2023 Ram 1500 manuals print 'SAE J1709' — apparently a misprint for J1703 (later manuals print J1703 again). Italian-designed models (Renegade, Hornet, ProMaster, ProMaster City) take DOT 4 changed every two years — see their engine entries.

Used in: Ram 1500 3.0 Standard Output / High Output (2025-)

3.6 Pentastar V6 — Grand Cherokee, Durango, Ram 1500 · 2011 on

Engine oil
FCA MS-6395 · API Certified · 5W-20(2015–2018 · Ram 1500 (DS, incl. 1500 Classic))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
'API Certified SAE 5W-20 Engine Oil, meeting the requirements of FCA Material Standard MS-6395 such as Mopar, Pennzoil, and Shell Helix. Refer to your engine oil filler cap for correct SAE grade.' The manual adds: 'Mopar SAE 5W-30 engine oil approved to ... MS-6395 may be used when SAE 5W-20 engine oil meeting MS-6395 is not available.'
Engine oil
FCA MS-6395 · API Certified · 0W-20(2017–2017 · Grand Cherokee (WK2))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
'API Certified SAE 0W-20 Engine Oil, meeting the requirements of FCA Material Standard MS-6395 such as Mopar, Pennzoil, and Shell Helix. Refer to your engine oil filler cap for correct SAE grade.'
Engine oil
FCA MS-6395 · API Certified · 0W-20(2020–2020 · Ram 1500 (DT))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
'API Certified SAE 0W-20 Engine Oil, meeting the requirements of FCA Material Standard MS-6395 such as Mopar, Pennzoil, and Shell Helix. Refer to your engine oil filler cap for correct SAE grade.'
Engine oil
FCA MS-6395 · API Starburst · 0W-20(2022–2025 · Grand Cherokee / Grand Cherokee L (WL), Ram 1500 (DT))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
'Mopar SAE 0W-20 Full Synthetic Engine Oil which meets the requirements of the manufacturer Material Standard MS-6395. Equivalent full synthetic SAE 0W-20 engine oil can be used but must have the API Starburst trademark.'
Oil change with filter
6 quarts (5.6 liters)(Grand Cherokee WK2 (2017 manual))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Oil change with filter
5 quarts (4.7 liters)(Grand Cherokee / Grand Cherokee L WL (2022 manual))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Oil change with filter
6 quarts (5.6 liters)(Ram 1500 DS / 1500 Classic (2015 and 2018 manuals))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Oil change with filter
5 quarts (4.7 liters)(Ram 1500 DT (2020, 2023 and 2025 manuals))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Oil capacity
5.7 liters(Durango (2024 press spec sheet))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
'Oil Capacity 6 quarts (5.7 liters)' — press sheet, filter not stated. No Durango owner's manual could be retrieved.
Coolant
FCA MS.90032 — Mopar Antifreeze/Coolant 10 Year/150,000 Mile Formula OAT (Organic Additive Technology)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Every manual checked (2015-2026) names OAT coolant to MS.90032; the 2014 Dodge Dart manual names the earlier Chrysler OAT standard MS-12106. 'Should not be mixed with Hybrid Organic Additive Technology (HOAT) engine coolant (antifreeze) or any "globally compatible" coolant'; not designed for propylene-glycol coolant. The same coolant is specified for intercooler, motor-generator, power-electronics and battery circuits. Capacity varies by vehicle, engine and towing package — read the manual's Fluid Capacities table.
Brake fluid
DOT 3 · SAE J1703
Manufacturer-publishedSource
US-designed Jeep, Ram, Dodge and Chrysler models: 'Mopar DOT 3 Brake Fluid, SAE J1703'; manuals up to about 2019 add 'If DOT 3 ... is not available, then DOT 4 is acceptable'. The 2023-2024 Wrangler and 2023 Ram 1500 manuals print 'SAE J1709' — apparently a misprint for J1703 (later manuals print J1703 again). Italian-designed models (Renegade, Hornet, ProMaster, ProMaster City) take DOT 4 changed every two years — see their engine entries.

Used in: Jeep Grand Cherokee / Grand Cherokee L (2011-), Dodge Durango (2011-), Ram 1500 incl. eTorque (2013-)Shared engine — also sold as Jeep, Dodge

3.6 Pentastar V6 — Ram ProMaster · 2014 on

Engine oil
FCA MS-6395 · API Starburst · 0W-20(2022–2022 · ProMaster)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
'Mopar SAE 0W-20 Full Synthetic Engine Oil which meets the requirements of the manufacturer Material Standard MS-6395. Equivalent full synthetic SAE 0W-20 engine oil can be used but must have the API Starburst trademark.'
Oil change with filter
6 quarts (5.6 liters)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Coolant
FCA MS.90032 — Mopar Antifreeze/Coolant 10 Year/150,000 Mile Formula OAT (Organic Additive Technology)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Every manual checked (2015-2026) names OAT coolant to MS.90032; the 2014 Dodge Dart manual names the earlier Chrysler OAT standard MS-12106. 'Should not be mixed with Hybrid Organic Additive Technology (HOAT) engine coolant (antifreeze) or any "globally compatible" coolant'; not designed for propylene-glycol coolant. The same coolant is specified for intercooler, motor-generator, power-electronics and battery circuits. Capacity varies by vehicle, engine and towing package — read the manual's Fluid Capacities table.
Brake fluid
DOT 4
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Italian-designed van: 'Mopar DOT 4. DOT 4 brake fluid must be changed every two years regardless of mileage.'

Used in: Ram ProMaster 1500/2500/3500 (2014-)

5.7 HEMI V8 — Ram 2500/3500 · 2012–2018

Engine oil
FCA MS-6395 · API Certified · 5W-20(2015–2018 · Ram 2500/3500)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
'API Certified SAE 5W-20 Engine Oil, meeting the requirements of FCA Material Standard MS-6395 such as Mopar, Pennzoil, and Shell Helix. Refer to your engine oil filler cap for correct SAE grade.'
Engine oil
FCA MS-6395 · API Certified · 5W-30(2015–2015 · Ram 2500/3500 operating above 14,000 lb (6,350 kg) gross combined weight rating)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
2015 manual: 'Engine Oil — 5.7L Engine 2500/3500 trucks operating under a gross combined weight rating greater than 14,000 lbs (6,350 kg): We recommend you use API Certified SAE 5W-30 Engine Oil, meeting the requirements of FCA US Material Standard MS-6395.' The 2018 manual's table lists only 5W-20 for the 5.7L.
Oil change with filter
7 quarts (6.6 liters)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Coolant
FCA MS.90032 — Mopar Antifreeze/Coolant 10 Year/150,000 Mile Formula OAT (Organic Additive Technology)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Every manual checked (2015-2026) names OAT coolant to MS.90032; the 2014 Dodge Dart manual names the earlier Chrysler OAT standard MS-12106. 'Should not be mixed with Hybrid Organic Additive Technology (HOAT) engine coolant (antifreeze) or any "globally compatible" coolant'; not designed for propylene-glycol coolant. The same coolant is specified for intercooler, motor-generator, power-electronics and battery circuits. Capacity varies by vehicle, engine and towing package — read the manual's Fluid Capacities table.
Brake fluid
DOT 3 · SAE J1703
Manufacturer-publishedSource
US-designed Jeep, Ram, Dodge and Chrysler models: 'Mopar DOT 3 Brake Fluid, SAE J1703'; manuals up to about 2019 add 'If DOT 3 ... is not available, then DOT 4 is acceptable'. The 2023-2024 Wrangler and 2023 Ram 1500 manuals print 'SAE J1709' — apparently a misprint for J1703 (later manuals print J1703 again). Italian-designed models (Renegade, Hornet, ProMaster, ProMaster City) take DOT 4 changed every two years — see their engine entries.

Used in: Ram 2500 / 3500 gasoline (2012-2018)

5.7 HEMI V8 (incl. eTorque) — Grand Cherokee, Durango, Ram 1500, Wagoneer · 2012 on

Engine oil
FCA MS-6395 · API Certified · 5W-20(2015–2020 · Grand Cherokee (WK2, 2017 manual), Ram 1500 DS/Classic (2015, 2018), Ram 1500 DT (2020))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
'API Certified SAE 5W-20 Engine Oil, meeting the requirements of FCA Material Standard MS-6395 such as Mopar, Pennzoil, and Shell Helix. Refer to your engine oil filler cap for correct SAE grade.'
Engine oil
FCA MS-6395 · API Starburst · 0W-20(2022–2023 · Grand Cherokee (WL), Wagoneer, Ram 1500 (DT))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
'Mopar SAE 0W-20 Full Synthetic Engine Oil which meets the requirements of the manufacturer Material Standard MS-6395. Equivalent full synthetic SAE 0W-20 engine oil can be used but must have the API Starburst trademark.' The 2020 Ram 1500 manual still named 5W-20; the 2022-on manuals name 0W-20.
Oil change with filter
7 quarts (6.6 liters)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Same figure in every manual checked (Grand Cherokee 2017/2022, Ram 1500 2015/2018/2020/2023, Wagoneer 2022). Durango 2024 press sheet also says 7 quarts (6.6 liters).
Coolant
FCA MS.90032 — Mopar Antifreeze/Coolant 10 Year/150,000 Mile Formula OAT (Organic Additive Technology)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Every manual checked (2015-2026) names OAT coolant to MS.90032; the 2014 Dodge Dart manual names the earlier Chrysler OAT standard MS-12106. 'Should not be mixed with Hybrid Organic Additive Technology (HOAT) engine coolant (antifreeze) or any "globally compatible" coolant'; not designed for propylene-glycol coolant. The same coolant is specified for intercooler, motor-generator, power-electronics and battery circuits. Capacity varies by vehicle, engine and towing package — read the manual's Fluid Capacities table.
Brake fluid
DOT 3 · SAE J1703
Manufacturer-publishedSource
US-designed Jeep, Ram, Dodge and Chrysler models: 'Mopar DOT 3 Brake Fluid, SAE J1703'; manuals up to about 2019 add 'If DOT 3 ... is not available, then DOT 4 is acceptable'. The 2023-2024 Wrangler and 2023 Ram 1500 manuals print 'SAE J1709' — apparently a misprint for J1703 (later manuals print J1703 again). Italian-designed models (Renegade, Hornet, ProMaster, ProMaster City) take DOT 4 changed every two years — see their engine entries.

Used in: Jeep Grand Cherokee (2012-), Dodge Durango (2012-), Ram 1500 incl. eTorque and 1500 Classic (2012-), Wagoneer (2022-2023)Shared engine — also sold as Jeep, Dodge

6.4 HEMI V8 — Ram 2500/3500 · 2014 on

Engine oil
FCA MS-12633 · API SN · 0W-40(2015–2020 · Ram 2500/3500)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
2015/2018 wording: 'the manufacturer only recommends full synthetic engine oils that meet the American Petroleum Institute (API) categories of SN. The manufacturer recommends the use of Pennzoil Ultra 0W-40 or equivalent Mopar engine oil meeting the requirements of FCA Material Standard MS-12633 for use in all operating temperatures.'
Engine oil
FCA MS-A0921 · API Donut · 0W-40(2023–2025 · Ram 2500/3500)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
'Mopar API Certified SAE 0W-40 Full Synthetic Engine Oil which meets the requirements of the manufacturer Material Standard MS-A0921. Equivalent full synthetic SAE 0W-40 engine oil can be used but must have the API Donut trademark.'
Oil change with filter
7 quarts (6.6 liters)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Coolant
FCA MS.90032 — Mopar Antifreeze/Coolant 10 Year/150,000 Mile Formula OAT (Organic Additive Technology)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Every manual checked (2015-2026) names OAT coolant to MS.90032; the 2014 Dodge Dart manual names the earlier Chrysler OAT standard MS-12106. 'Should not be mixed with Hybrid Organic Additive Technology (HOAT) engine coolant (antifreeze) or any "globally compatible" coolant'; not designed for propylene-glycol coolant. The same coolant is specified for intercooler, motor-generator, power-electronics and battery circuits. Capacity varies by vehicle, engine and towing package — read the manual's Fluid Capacities table.
Brake fluid
DOT 3 · SAE J1703
Manufacturer-publishedSource
US-designed Jeep, Ram, Dodge and Chrysler models: 'Mopar DOT 3 Brake Fluid, SAE J1703'; manuals up to about 2019 add 'If DOT 3 ... is not available, then DOT 4 is acceptable'. The 2023-2024 Wrangler and 2023 Ram 1500 manuals print 'SAE J1709' — apparently a misprint for J1703 (later manuals print J1703 again). Italian-designed models (Renegade, Hornet, ProMaster, ProMaster City) take DOT 4 changed every two years — see their engine entries.

Used in: Ram 2500 / 3500 gasoline (2014-)

6.7 Cummins I6 turbo-diesel — Ram 2500/3500 · 2019 on

Engine oil
FCA MS-10902 · API CK-4 · 10W-30(2020–2025 · Ram 2500/3500 Cummins — ambient above 0°F (-18°C))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
'In ambient temperatures above 0°F (-18°C), we recommend using 10W-30 engine oil such as Mopar, Shell Rotella and Shell Rimula that meets the manufacturer Material Standard MS-10902 and the API CK-4 engine oil category is required. Products meeting Cummins CES 20081 may also be used.'
Engine oil
FCA MS-10902 · API CK-4 · 5W-40(2020–2025 · Ram 2500/3500 Cummins — ambient below 0°F (-18°C))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
'In ambient temperatures below 0°F (-18°C), we recommend using 5W-40 synthetic engine oil such as Mopar, Shell Rotella and Shell Rimula that meets the manufacturer Material Standard MS-10902 and the API CK-4 engine oil category is required.'
Oil change with filter
12 quarts (11.4 liters)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Coolant
FCA MS.90032 — Mopar Antifreeze/Coolant 10 Year/150,000 Mile Formula OAT (Organic Additive Technology)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Every manual checked (2015-2026) names OAT coolant to MS.90032; the 2014 Dodge Dart manual names the earlier Chrysler OAT standard MS-12106. 'Should not be mixed with Hybrid Organic Additive Technology (HOAT) engine coolant (antifreeze) or any "globally compatible" coolant'; not designed for propylene-glycol coolant. The same coolant is specified for intercooler, motor-generator, power-electronics and battery circuits. Capacity varies by vehicle, engine and towing package — read the manual's Fluid Capacities table.
Brake fluid
DOT 3 · SAE J1703
Manufacturer-publishedSource
US-designed Jeep, Ram, Dodge and Chrysler models: 'Mopar DOT 3 Brake Fluid, SAE J1703'; manuals up to about 2019 add 'If DOT 3 ... is not available, then DOT 4 is acceptable'. The 2023-2024 Wrangler and 2023 Ram 1500 manuals print 'SAE J1709' — apparently a misprint for J1703 (later manuals print J1703 again). Italian-designed models (Renegade, Hornet, ProMaster, ProMaster City) take DOT 4 changed every two years — see their engine entries.

Used in: Ram 2500 / 3500 Cummins (2019-)

Manufacturer-published figures link to the maker's document. "Reported" figures come from a dealer or a parts catalog and haven't been confirmed by the maker. Nothing here has been checked against your car — confirm with your owner's manual or a dealer reading the VIN.

Common questions

What oil does a Ram take?

It depends on the engine. Across the 9 Ram engines we hold, the grades named are mostly 0W-20, 5W-40, 0W-40, with FCA MS-6395, FCA MS-12991, FCA MS-A0921, FCA MS-12633. Find your engine above, or enter your VIN for the exact match.

How many quarts of oil does a Ram take?

Between 5 and 12 quarts for an oil change with filter, depending on the engine — each engine's figure is listed above with its source.

Oil type and capacity by make