Jeep oil and fluids
What oil does a Jeep take?
The oil each Jeep engine takes and how many quarts an oil change with filter needs, for 16 engines — from Jeep's own US owner's manuals where they're published, each with its source. Look your car up by VIN for the exact engine, or find it in the list below.
Free · no signup · the engine size is in the owner's manual and on the original window sticker
By engine
1.3 Turbo I4 (GSE / FireFly) — Jeep Renegade · 2019–2023
- Oil change with filter
- 4.5 quarts (4.3 liters)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'Oil Capacity 4.5 quarts (4.3 liters) with dry filter' — 2021 and 2023 press spec sheets, not the owner's manual.
- Coolant
- FCA MS.90032 — Mopar Antifreeze/Coolant 10 Year/150,000 Mile Formula OAT (Organic Additive Technology)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Every manual checked (2015-2026) names OAT coolant to MS.90032; the 2014 Dodge Dart manual names the earlier Chrysler OAT standard MS-12106. 'Should not be mixed with Hybrid Organic Additive Technology (HOAT) engine coolant (antifreeze) or any "globally compatible" coolant'; not designed for propylene-glycol coolant. The same coolant is specified for intercooler, motor-generator, power-electronics and battery circuits. Capacity varies by vehicle, engine and towing package — read the manual's Fluid Capacities table.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 4
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- From the 2018 Renegade manual (DOT 4; DOT 3 acceptable if DOT 4 unavailable; change every 2 years). The 2019-2023 1.3T Renegade manual was not retrieved.
Used in: Jeep Renegade 1.3T (2019-2023)
1.4 MultiAir Turbo I4 — Jeep Renegade · 2015–2018
- Engine oil
- FCA MS-12991 · API Certified · 5W-40(2016–2018 · Renegade 1.4 Turbo)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'SAE 5W-40 API Certified Synthetic Engine Oil, meeting the requirements of ... Material Standard MS-12991 such as MOPAR, Pennzoil, and Shell Helix. Refer to your engine oil filler cap for correct SAE grade.' Synthetic, recommended for all operating temperatures.
- Oil change with filter
- 4 quarts (3.8 liters)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Printed '4.0 Quarts 3.8 Liters'.
- Coolant
- FCA MS.90032 — Mopar Antifreeze/Coolant 10 Year/150,000 Mile Formula OAT (Organic Additive Technology)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Every manual checked (2015-2026) names OAT coolant to MS.90032; the 2014 Dodge Dart manual names the earlier Chrysler OAT standard MS-12106. 'Should not be mixed with Hybrid Organic Additive Technology (HOAT) engine coolant (antifreeze) or any "globally compatible" coolant'; not designed for propylene-glycol coolant. The same coolant is specified for intercooler, motor-generator, power-electronics and battery circuits. Capacity varies by vehicle, engine and towing package — read the manual's Fluid Capacities table.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 4
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'Mopar DOT 4. If DOT 4 brake fluid is not available, then DOT 3 is acceptable. DOT 4 brake fluid must be changed every 2 years regardless of mileage.'
Used in: Jeep Renegade 1.4 Turbo, manual (2015-2018)
2.0 Turbo I4 (GME-T4 'Hurricane4') — Jeep Wrangler, Cherokee, Compass · 2018 on
- Engine oil
- FCA MS-13340 · API SN PLUS · 5W-30(2019–2020 · Cherokee (2019 manual), Wrangler JL (2020 manual))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'Mopar API SN PLUS Certified SAE 5W-30 Full Synthetic Engine Oil which meets the requirements of FCA Material Standard MS-13340 ... Failure to use the recommended SN PLUS or equivalent oil can cause engine damage.'
- Engine oil
- FCA MS-13340 · API SP; ILSAC GF-6A · 5W-30(2023–2024 · Wrangler JL)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'Mopar API SP/GF-6A Certified SAE 5W-30 Full Synthetic Engine Oil which meets the requirements of the manufacturer Material Standard MS-13340. Equivalent full synthetic 5W-30 API SP engine oil can be used but must have the API Donut trademark.' Failure to use API SP/GF-6A 'can cause engine damage not covered by the vehicle warranty'.
- Oil change with filter
- 5 quarts (4.73 liters)(Wrangler JL (2020, 2023, 2024 manuals))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Oil capacity
- 4.7 liters(Compass (2025 press spec sheet))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'Oil Capacity 5.0 quarts (4.7 liters)' — press sheet, filter not stated.
- Coolant
- FCA MS.90032 — Mopar Antifreeze/Coolant 10 Year/150,000 Mile Formula OAT (Organic Additive Technology)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Every manual checked (2015-2026) names OAT coolant to MS.90032; the 2014 Dodge Dart manual names the earlier Chrysler OAT standard MS-12106. 'Should not be mixed with Hybrid Organic Additive Technology (HOAT) engine coolant (antifreeze) or any "globally compatible" coolant'; not designed for propylene-glycol coolant. The same coolant is specified for intercooler, motor-generator, power-electronics and battery circuits. Capacity varies by vehicle, engine and towing package — read the manual's Fluid Capacities table.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 3 · SAE J1703
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- US-designed Jeep, Ram, Dodge and Chrysler models: 'Mopar DOT 3 Brake Fluid, SAE J1703'; manuals up to about 2019 add 'If DOT 3 ... is not available, then DOT 4 is acceptable'. The 2023-2024 Wrangler and 2023 Ram 1500 manuals print 'SAE J1709' — apparently a misprint for J1703 (later manuals print J1703 again). Italian-designed models (Renegade, Hornet, ProMaster, ProMaster City) take DOT 4 changed every two years — see their engine entries.
Used in: Wrangler JL 2.0T incl. eTorque (2018-), Cherokee 2.0T (2019-2023), Compass 2.0T (2023-)
2.0 Turbo I4 plug-in hybrid (4xe) — Wrangler 4xe, Grand Cherokee 4xe · 2021 on
- Engine oil
- FCA MS-13340 · API SP; ILSAC GF-6A · 5W-30(2022–2026 · Grand Cherokee 4xe (2022, 2023, 2026), Wrangler 4xe (2024))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'Mopar API SP/GF-6A Certified SAE 5W-30 Full Synthetic Engine Oil which meets the requirements of the manufacturer Material Standard MS-13340. Equivalent full synthetic SAE 5W-30 engine oil can be used if it meets API SP/GF-6A Certification. If API SP/GF-6A or equivalent oil is unavailable then please contact a local dealership for recommendation.' (2023/2026 Grand Cherokee 4xe wording; the 2022 Grand Cherokee and 2024 Wrangler books require the API Donut instead.)
- Oil change with filter
- 5 quarts (4.73 liters)(Wrangler 4xe (2024 manual — single '2.0L Engine' row))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Oil change with filter
- 5 quarts (4.7 liters)(Grand Cherokee 4xe (2022, 2023, 2026 manuals))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant
- FCA MS.90032 (Mopar Antifreeze/Coolant 10 Year/150,000 Mile Formula OAT)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- One OAT coolant for engine, intercooler, power electronics and battery circuits; the battery and power-electronics circuits are dealer-service only.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 3 · SAE J1703
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- US-designed Jeep, Ram, Dodge and Chrysler models: 'Mopar DOT 3 Brake Fluid, SAE J1703'; manuals up to about 2019 add 'If DOT 3 ... is not available, then DOT 4 is acceptable'. The 2023-2024 Wrangler and 2023 Ram 1500 manuals print 'SAE J1709' — apparently a misprint for J1703 (later manuals print J1703 again). Italian-designed models (Renegade, Hornet, ProMaster, ProMaster City) take DOT 4 changed every two years — see their engine entries.
Used in: Wrangler 4xe (2021-), Grand Cherokee 4xe (2022-)
2.4 Tigershark MultiAir2 I4 — Jeep Cherokee, Dodge Dart · 2013–2023
- Engine oil
- FCA MS-6395 · API Certified · 0W-20(2014–2019 · Dart (2014 manual), Cherokee (2019 manual))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'SAE 0W-20 API Certified Engine Oil, meeting the requirements of FCA Material Standard MS-6395 such as Mopar, Pennzoil, and Shell Helix. Refer to your engine oil filler cap for correct SAE grade.'
- Coolant
- FCA MS.90032 — Mopar Antifreeze/Coolant 10 Year/150,000 Mile Formula OAT (Organic Additive Technology)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Every manual checked (2015-2026) names OAT coolant to MS.90032; the 2014 Dodge Dart manual names the earlier Chrysler OAT standard MS-12106. 'Should not be mixed with Hybrid Organic Additive Technology (HOAT) engine coolant (antifreeze) or any "globally compatible" coolant'; not designed for propylene-glycol coolant. The same coolant is specified for intercooler, motor-generator, power-electronics and battery circuits. Capacity varies by vehicle, engine and towing package — read the manual's Fluid Capacities table.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 3 · SAE J1703
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- US-designed Jeep, Ram, Dodge and Chrysler models: 'Mopar DOT 3 Brake Fluid, SAE J1703'; manuals up to about 2019 add 'If DOT 3 ... is not available, then DOT 4 is acceptable'. The 2023-2024 Wrangler and 2023 Ram 1500 manuals print 'SAE J1709' — apparently a misprint for J1703 (later manuals print J1703 again). Italian-designed models (Renegade, Hornet, ProMaster, ProMaster City) take DOT 4 changed every two years — see their engine entries.
Used in: Jeep Cherokee 2.4 (2014-2023), Dodge Dart 2.4 (2014-2016)Shared engine — also sold as Dodge
2.4 Tigershark MultiAir2 I4 — Jeep Compass (2017-2022) · 2017–2022
- Engine oil
- FCA MS-6395 · API Certified · 0W-20(2021–2021 · Compass (MP))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'SAE 0W-20 API Certified Engine Oil, meeting the requirements of FCA Material Standard MS-6395 such as Mopar, Pennzoil, and Shell Helix. Refer to your engine oil filler cap for correct SAE grade.'
- Coolant
- FCA MS.90032 — Mopar Antifreeze/Coolant 10 Year/150,000 Mile Formula OAT (Organic Additive Technology)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Every manual checked (2015-2026) names OAT coolant to MS.90032; the 2014 Dodge Dart manual names the earlier Chrysler OAT standard MS-12106. 'Should not be mixed with Hybrid Organic Additive Technology (HOAT) engine coolant (antifreeze) or any "globally compatible" coolant'; not designed for propylene-glycol coolant. The same coolant is specified for intercooler, motor-generator, power-electronics and battery circuits. Capacity varies by vehicle, engine and towing package — read the manual's Fluid Capacities table.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 3 · SAE J1703
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- US-designed Jeep, Ram, Dodge and Chrysler models: 'Mopar DOT 3 Brake Fluid, SAE J1703'; manuals up to about 2019 add 'If DOT 3 ... is not available, then DOT 4 is acceptable'. The 2023-2024 Wrangler and 2023 Ram 1500 manuals print 'SAE J1709' — apparently a misprint for J1703 (later manuals print J1703 again). Italian-designed models (Renegade, Hornet, ProMaster, ProMaster City) take DOT 4 changed every two years — see their engine entries.
Used in: Jeep Compass (MP) 2.4 (2017-2022)
2.4 Tigershark MultiAir2 I4 — Jeep Renegade, Ram ProMaster City · 2015–2022
- Engine oil
- FCA MS-6395 · API Certified · 0W-20(2016–2018 · Renegade (2016 User Guide, 2018 manual) — ProMaster City handbook not retrieved)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Renegade: 'only recommends 0W-20 engine oils that are API Certified and meet the requirements of FCA Material Standard MS-6395.'
- Oil change with filter
- 5.5 quarts (5.2 liters)(Renegade (2016, 2018 manuals))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Oil capacity
- 5.2 liters(ProMaster City (2021 press spec sheet))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'Oil Capacity 5.5 quarts (5.2 liters)' — press sheet, filter not stated.
- Coolant
- FCA MS.90032 — Mopar Antifreeze/Coolant 10 Year/150,000 Mile Formula OAT (Organic Additive Technology)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Every manual checked (2015-2026) names OAT coolant to MS.90032; the 2014 Dodge Dart manual names the earlier Chrysler OAT standard MS-12106. 'Should not be mixed with Hybrid Organic Additive Technology (HOAT) engine coolant (antifreeze) or any "globally compatible" coolant'; not designed for propylene-glycol coolant. The same coolant is specified for intercooler, motor-generator, power-electronics and battery circuits. Capacity varies by vehicle, engine and towing package — read the manual's Fluid Capacities table.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 4
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Renegade: 'Mopar DOT 4. If DOT 4 brake fluid is not available, then DOT 3 is acceptable. DOT 4 brake fluid must be changed every 2 years.' ProMaster City brake-fluid type not confirmed (its schedule also changes brake fluid every two years).
Used in: Jeep Renegade 2.4 (2015-2021), Ram ProMaster City (2015-2022)Shared engine — also sold as Ram
2.4 World Engine I4 (dual VVT) — Jeep Compass (MK, 2012-2017) · 2012–2017
- Engine oil
- Chrysler MS-6395 · API Certified · 5W-20(2015–2015 · Compass (MK) 2.0L and 2.4L)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Capacity table: '2.0L and 2.4L Engine (SAE 5W-20, API Certified)'; engine oil selection: 'API Certified and meet the requirements of Chrysler Material Standard MS-6395'.
- Oil change with filter
- 4.5 quarts (4.26 liters)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- One row for the 2.0L and 2.4L.
- Coolant
- FCA MS.90032 — Mopar Antifreeze/Coolant 10 Year/150,000 Mile Formula OAT (Organic Additive Technology)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Every manual checked (2015-2026) names OAT coolant to MS.90032; the 2014 Dodge Dart manual names the earlier Chrysler OAT standard MS-12106. 'Should not be mixed with Hybrid Organic Additive Technology (HOAT) engine coolant (antifreeze) or any "globally compatible" coolant'; not designed for propylene-glycol coolant. The same coolant is specified for intercooler, motor-generator, power-electronics and battery circuits. Capacity varies by vehicle, engine and towing package — read the manual's Fluid Capacities table.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 3 · SAE J1703
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- US-designed Jeep, Ram, Dodge and Chrysler models: 'Mopar DOT 3 Brake Fluid, SAE J1703'; manuals up to about 2019 add 'If DOT 3 ... is not available, then DOT 4 is acceptable'. The 2023-2024 Wrangler and 2023 Ram 1500 manuals print 'SAE J1709' — apparently a misprint for J1703 (later manuals print J1703 again). Italian-designed models (Renegade, Hornet, ProMaster, ProMaster City) take DOT 4 changed every two years — see their engine entries.
Used in: Jeep Compass (MK) 2.4 (2012-2017)
3.0 EcoDiesel V6 (Gen 3) · 2020–2023
- Engine oil
- FCA MS-12991 · API SN · 5W-40(2020–2020 · Ram 1500 EcoDiesel)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- '5W-40 synthetic engine oil such as Mopar that meets FCA Material Standard MS-12991 and the API SN engine oil category is required.'
- Engine oil
- FCA MS-12991 · API SP · 5W-40(2023–2023 · Ram 1500 EcoDiesel)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- '5W-40 synthetic engine oil such as Mopar that meets the manufacturer Material Standard MS-12991 and the API SP engine oil category is required.'
- Engine oil
- FCA MS-12991 · ACEA A3/B4 · API SN/SP · 5W-40(2023–2023 · Wrangler EcoDiesel)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'Mopar API Certified SAE 5W-40 Full Synthetic Engine Oil which meets the requirements of the manufacturer Material Standard MS-12991. Equivalent full synthetic SAE 5W-40 engine oil can be used but must be compliant to API SN/SP and ACEA A3/B4 specifications.'
- Oil change with filter
- 8.5 quarts (8 liters)(Ram 1500 (2020 and 2023 manuals))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant
- FCA MS.90032 — Mopar Antifreeze/Coolant 10 Year/150,000 Mile Formula OAT (Organic Additive Technology)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Every manual checked (2015-2026) names OAT coolant to MS.90032; the 2014 Dodge Dart manual names the earlier Chrysler OAT standard MS-12106. 'Should not be mixed with Hybrid Organic Additive Technology (HOAT) engine coolant (antifreeze) or any "globally compatible" coolant'; not designed for propylene-glycol coolant. The same coolant is specified for intercooler, motor-generator, power-electronics and battery circuits. Capacity varies by vehicle, engine and towing package — read the manual's Fluid Capacities table.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 3 · SAE J1703
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- US-designed Jeep, Ram, Dodge and Chrysler models: 'Mopar DOT 3 Brake Fluid, SAE J1703'; manuals up to about 2019 add 'If DOT 3 ... is not available, then DOT 4 is acceptable'. The 2023-2024 Wrangler and 2023 Ram 1500 manuals print 'SAE J1709' — apparently a misprint for J1703 (later manuals print J1703 again). Italian-designed models (Renegade, Hornet, ProMaster, ProMaster City) take DOT 4 changed every two years — see their engine entries.
Used in: Ram 1500 EcoDiesel (2020-2023), Jeep Wrangler EcoDiesel (2020-2023), Jeep Gladiator EcoDiesel (2021-2023)Shared engine — also sold as Ram
3.0 Hurricane twin-turbo I6 — Wagoneer, Grand Wagoneer · 2023 on
- Engine oil
- FCA MS-A0921 · API SP (API SN PLUS also acceptable) · 0W-40(High Output (Grand Wagoneer) — as listed in the 6th-edition Grand Wagoneer/Wagoneer manual)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'Mopar API Certified SAE 0W-40 Full Synthetic Engine Oil, which meets the requirements of the manufacturer Material Standard MS-A0921. Equivalent full synthetic SAE 0W-40 engine oil can be used but must have the API Donut trademark with a certification level of API-SP or later. API-SN+ is also acceptable.' Earlier API levels (API-SN or prior) 'can result in engine' damage.
- Oil change with filter
- 7.5 quarts (7.1 liters)(3.0L HO (Grand Wagoneer manual))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Oil change with filter
- 7.5 quarts (7.1 liters)(3.0L SO and HO (2025 press spec sheet))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'Oil Capacity 7.5 quarts (7.1 liters) oil change with filter' for both outputs.
- Coolant
- FCA MS.90032 — Mopar Antifreeze/Coolant 10 Year/150,000 Mile Formula OAT (Organic Additive Technology)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Every manual checked (2015-2026) names OAT coolant to MS.90032; the 2014 Dodge Dart manual names the earlier Chrysler OAT standard MS-12106. 'Should not be mixed with Hybrid Organic Additive Technology (HOAT) engine coolant (antifreeze) or any "globally compatible" coolant'; not designed for propylene-glycol coolant. The same coolant is specified for intercooler, motor-generator, power-electronics and battery circuits. Capacity varies by vehicle, engine and towing package — read the manual's Fluid Capacities table.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 3 · SAE J1703
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- US-designed Jeep, Ram, Dodge and Chrysler models: 'Mopar DOT 3 Brake Fluid, SAE J1703'; manuals up to about 2019 add 'If DOT 3 ... is not available, then DOT 4 is acceptable'. The 2023-2024 Wrangler and 2023 Ram 1500 manuals print 'SAE J1709' — apparently a misprint for J1703 (later manuals print J1703 again). Italian-designed models (Renegade, Hornet, ProMaster, ProMaster City) take DOT 4 changed every two years — see their engine entries.
Used in: Wagoneer / Wagoneer L (2023-), Grand Wagoneer / Grand Wagoneer L (2023-)
3.2 Pentastar V6 — Jeep Cherokee · 2014–2022
- Engine oil
- FCA MS-6395 · API Certified · 5W-20(2019–2019 · Cherokee (KL))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'API Certified SAE 5W-20 Engine Oil, meeting the requirements of FCA Material Standard MS-6395 such as Mopar, Pennzoil, and Shell Helix. Refer to your engine oil filler cap for correct SAE grade.'
- Coolant
- FCA MS.90032 — Mopar Antifreeze/Coolant 10 Year/150,000 Mile Formula OAT (Organic Additive Technology)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Every manual checked (2015-2026) names OAT coolant to MS.90032; the 2014 Dodge Dart manual names the earlier Chrysler OAT standard MS-12106. 'Should not be mixed with Hybrid Organic Additive Technology (HOAT) engine coolant (antifreeze) or any "globally compatible" coolant'; not designed for propylene-glycol coolant. The same coolant is specified for intercooler, motor-generator, power-electronics and battery circuits. Capacity varies by vehicle, engine and towing package — read the manual's Fluid Capacities table.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 3 · SAE J1703
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- US-designed Jeep, Ram, Dodge and Chrysler models: 'Mopar DOT 3 Brake Fluid, SAE J1703'; manuals up to about 2019 add 'If DOT 3 ... is not available, then DOT 4 is acceptable'. The 2023-2024 Wrangler and 2023 Ram 1500 manuals print 'SAE J1709' — apparently a misprint for J1703 (later manuals print J1703 again). Italian-designed models (Renegade, Hornet, ProMaster, ProMaster City) take DOT 4 changed every two years — see their engine entries.
Used in: Jeep Cherokee (KL) 3.2 (2014-2022)
3.6 Pentastar V6 — Grand Cherokee, Durango, Ram 1500 · 2011 on
- Engine oil
- FCA MS-6395 · API Certified · 5W-20(2015–2018 · Ram 1500 (DS, incl. 1500 Classic))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'API Certified SAE 5W-20 Engine Oil, meeting the requirements of FCA Material Standard MS-6395 such as Mopar, Pennzoil, and Shell Helix. Refer to your engine oil filler cap for correct SAE grade.' The manual adds: 'Mopar SAE 5W-30 engine oil approved to ... MS-6395 may be used when SAE 5W-20 engine oil meeting MS-6395 is not available.'
- Engine oil
- FCA MS-6395 · API Certified · 0W-20(2017–2017 · Grand Cherokee (WK2))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'API Certified SAE 0W-20 Engine Oil, meeting the requirements of FCA Material Standard MS-6395 such as Mopar, Pennzoil, and Shell Helix. Refer to your engine oil filler cap for correct SAE grade.'
- Engine oil
- FCA MS-6395 · API Certified · 0W-20(2020–2020 · Ram 1500 (DT))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'API Certified SAE 0W-20 Engine Oil, meeting the requirements of FCA Material Standard MS-6395 such as Mopar, Pennzoil, and Shell Helix. Refer to your engine oil filler cap for correct SAE grade.'
- Engine oil
- FCA MS-6395 · API Starburst · 0W-20(2022–2025 · Grand Cherokee / Grand Cherokee L (WL), Ram 1500 (DT))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'Mopar SAE 0W-20 Full Synthetic Engine Oil which meets the requirements of the manufacturer Material Standard MS-6395. Equivalent full synthetic SAE 0W-20 engine oil can be used but must have the API Starburst trademark.'
- Oil change with filter
- 6 quarts (5.6 liters)(Grand Cherokee WK2 (2017 manual))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Oil change with filter
- 5 quarts (4.7 liters)(Grand Cherokee / Grand Cherokee L WL (2022 manual))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Oil change with filter
- 6 quarts (5.6 liters)(Ram 1500 DS / 1500 Classic (2015 and 2018 manuals))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Oil change with filter
- 5 quarts (4.7 liters)(Ram 1500 DT (2020, 2023 and 2025 manuals))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Oil capacity
- 5.7 liters(Durango (2024 press spec sheet))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'Oil Capacity 6 quarts (5.7 liters)' — press sheet, filter not stated. No Durango owner's manual could be retrieved.
- Coolant
- FCA MS.90032 — Mopar Antifreeze/Coolant 10 Year/150,000 Mile Formula OAT (Organic Additive Technology)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Every manual checked (2015-2026) names OAT coolant to MS.90032; the 2014 Dodge Dart manual names the earlier Chrysler OAT standard MS-12106. 'Should not be mixed with Hybrid Organic Additive Technology (HOAT) engine coolant (antifreeze) or any "globally compatible" coolant'; not designed for propylene-glycol coolant. The same coolant is specified for intercooler, motor-generator, power-electronics and battery circuits. Capacity varies by vehicle, engine and towing package — read the manual's Fluid Capacities table.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 3 · SAE J1703
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- US-designed Jeep, Ram, Dodge and Chrysler models: 'Mopar DOT 3 Brake Fluid, SAE J1703'; manuals up to about 2019 add 'If DOT 3 ... is not available, then DOT 4 is acceptable'. The 2023-2024 Wrangler and 2023 Ram 1500 manuals print 'SAE J1709' — apparently a misprint for J1703 (later manuals print J1703 again). Italian-designed models (Renegade, Hornet, ProMaster, ProMaster City) take DOT 4 changed every two years — see their engine entries.
Used in: Jeep Grand Cherokee / Grand Cherokee L (2011-), Dodge Durango (2011-), Ram 1500 incl. eTorque (2013-)Shared engine — also sold as Dodge, Ram
3.6 Pentastar V6 — Wrangler, Gladiator · 2012 on
- Engine oil
- FCA MS-6395 · API Certified · 5W-20(2016–2016 · Wrangler JK)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'API Certified SAE 5W-20 Engine Oil, meeting the requirements of FCA Material Standard MS-6395 such as MOPAR, Pennzoil, and Shell Helix. Refer to your engine oil filler cap for correct SAE grade.'
- Engine oil
- FCA MS-6395 · API Certified · 0W-20(2020–2020 · Wrangler JL)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'API Certified SAE 0W-20 Engine Oil, meeting the requirements of FCA Material Standard MS-6395 such as Mopar, Pennzoil, and Shell Helix. Refer to your engine oil filler cap for correct SAE grade.'
- Engine oil
- FCA MS-6395 · API Starburst · 0W-20(2023–2024 · Wrangler JL (incl. eTorque))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'Mopar SAE 0W-20 Full Synthetic Engine Oil which meets the requirements of the manufacturer Material Standard MS-6395. Equivalent full synthetic SAE 0W-20 engine oil can be used but must have the API Starburst trademark.'
- Oil change with filter
- 5 quarts (4.73 liters)(Wrangler JL (2020, 2023 and 2024 manuals))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Oil capacity
- 5.4 liters(Gladiator (2024 press spec sheet))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'Oil Capacity 5.7 quarts (5.4 liters)' — press sheet, filter not stated, and it does not agree with the Wrangler JL owner's manuals' 5 qt / 4.73 L with filter for the same engine. No Gladiator owner's manual could be retrieved; treat as unconfirmed.
- Coolant
- FCA MS.90032 — Mopar Antifreeze/Coolant 10 Year/150,000 Mile Formula OAT (Organic Additive Technology)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Every manual checked (2015-2026) names OAT coolant to MS.90032; the 2014 Dodge Dart manual names the earlier Chrysler OAT standard MS-12106. 'Should not be mixed with Hybrid Organic Additive Technology (HOAT) engine coolant (antifreeze) or any "globally compatible" coolant'; not designed for propylene-glycol coolant. The same coolant is specified for intercooler, motor-generator, power-electronics and battery circuits. Capacity varies by vehicle, engine and towing package — read the manual's Fluid Capacities table.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 3 · SAE J1703
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- US-designed Jeep, Ram, Dodge and Chrysler models: 'Mopar DOT 3 Brake Fluid, SAE J1703'; manuals up to about 2019 add 'If DOT 3 ... is not available, then DOT 4 is acceptable'. The 2023-2024 Wrangler and 2023 Ram 1500 manuals print 'SAE J1709' — apparently a misprint for J1703 (later manuals print J1703 again). Italian-designed models (Renegade, Hornet, ProMaster, ProMaster City) take DOT 4 changed every two years — see their engine entries.
Used in: Wrangler JK (2012-2018), Wrangler JL incl. eTorque (2018-), Gladiator (2020-)
5.7 HEMI V8 (incl. eTorque) — Grand Cherokee, Durango, Ram 1500, Wagoneer · 2012 on
- Engine oil
- FCA MS-6395 · API Certified · 5W-20(2015–2020 · Grand Cherokee (WK2, 2017 manual), Ram 1500 DS/Classic (2015, 2018), Ram 1500 DT (2020))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'API Certified SAE 5W-20 Engine Oil, meeting the requirements of FCA Material Standard MS-6395 such as Mopar, Pennzoil, and Shell Helix. Refer to your engine oil filler cap for correct SAE grade.'
- Engine oil
- FCA MS-6395 · API Starburst · 0W-20(2022–2023 · Grand Cherokee (WL), Wagoneer, Ram 1500 (DT))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'Mopar SAE 0W-20 Full Synthetic Engine Oil which meets the requirements of the manufacturer Material Standard MS-6395. Equivalent full synthetic SAE 0W-20 engine oil can be used but must have the API Starburst trademark.' The 2020 Ram 1500 manual still named 5W-20; the 2022-on manuals name 0W-20.
- Oil change with filter
- 7 quarts (6.6 liters)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Same figure in every manual checked (Grand Cherokee 2017/2022, Ram 1500 2015/2018/2020/2023, Wagoneer 2022). Durango 2024 press sheet also says 7 quarts (6.6 liters).
- Coolant
- FCA MS.90032 — Mopar Antifreeze/Coolant 10 Year/150,000 Mile Formula OAT (Organic Additive Technology)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Every manual checked (2015-2026) names OAT coolant to MS.90032; the 2014 Dodge Dart manual names the earlier Chrysler OAT standard MS-12106. 'Should not be mixed with Hybrid Organic Additive Technology (HOAT) engine coolant (antifreeze) or any "globally compatible" coolant'; not designed for propylene-glycol coolant. The same coolant is specified for intercooler, motor-generator, power-electronics and battery circuits. Capacity varies by vehicle, engine and towing package — read the manual's Fluid Capacities table.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 3 · SAE J1703
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- US-designed Jeep, Ram, Dodge and Chrysler models: 'Mopar DOT 3 Brake Fluid, SAE J1703'; manuals up to about 2019 add 'If DOT 3 ... is not available, then DOT 4 is acceptable'. The 2023-2024 Wrangler and 2023 Ram 1500 manuals print 'SAE J1709' — apparently a misprint for J1703 (later manuals print J1703 again). Italian-designed models (Renegade, Hornet, ProMaster, ProMaster City) take DOT 4 changed every two years — see their engine entries.
Used in: Jeep Grand Cherokee (2012-), Dodge Durango (2012-), Ram 1500 incl. eTorque and 1500 Classic (2012-), Wagoneer (2022-2023)Shared engine — also sold as Dodge, Ram
6.4 HEMI V8 — Jeep Grand Wagoneer · 2022–2023
- Engine oil
- FCA MS-12633 · API Donut · 0W-40(2022–2022 · Grand Wagoneer)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'Mopar API Certified SAE 0W-40 Full Synthetic Engine Oil which meets the requirements of the manufacturer Material Standard MS-12633. Equivalent full synthetic SAE 0W-40 engine oil can be used but must have the API Donut trademark.'
- Coolant
- FCA MS.90032 — Mopar Antifreeze/Coolant 10 Year/150,000 Mile Formula OAT (Organic Additive Technology)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Every manual checked (2015-2026) names OAT coolant to MS.90032; the 2014 Dodge Dart manual names the earlier Chrysler OAT standard MS-12106. 'Should not be mixed with Hybrid Organic Additive Technology (HOAT) engine coolant (antifreeze) or any "globally compatible" coolant'; not designed for propylene-glycol coolant. The same coolant is specified for intercooler, motor-generator, power-electronics and battery circuits. Capacity varies by vehicle, engine and towing package — read the manual's Fluid Capacities table.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 3 · SAE J1703
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- US-designed Jeep, Ram, Dodge and Chrysler models: 'Mopar DOT 3 Brake Fluid, SAE J1703'; manuals up to about 2019 add 'If DOT 3 ... is not available, then DOT 4 is acceptable'. The 2023-2024 Wrangler and 2023 Ram 1500 manuals print 'SAE J1709' — apparently a misprint for J1703 (later manuals print J1703 again). Italian-designed models (Renegade, Hornet, ProMaster, ProMaster City) take DOT 4 changed every two years — see their engine entries.
Used in: Grand Wagoneer / Grand Wagoneer L (2022-2023)
6.4 HEMI V8 (392) — Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 392 · 2021–2024
- Engine oil
- FCA MS-A0921 · API Donut · 0W-40(2024–2024 · Wrangler Rubicon 392)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- 'Mopar API Certified SAE 0W-40 Full Synthetic Engine Oil which meets the requirements of the manufacturer Material Standard MS-A0921. Equivalent full synthetic SAE 0W-40 engine oil can be used but must have the API Donut trademark.'
- Coolant
- FCA MS.90032 — Mopar Antifreeze/Coolant 10 Year/150,000 Mile Formula OAT (Organic Additive Technology)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Every manual checked (2015-2026) names OAT coolant to MS.90032; the 2014 Dodge Dart manual names the earlier Chrysler OAT standard MS-12106. 'Should not be mixed with Hybrid Organic Additive Technology (HOAT) engine coolant (antifreeze) or any "globally compatible" coolant'; not designed for propylene-glycol coolant. The same coolant is specified for intercooler, motor-generator, power-electronics and battery circuits. Capacity varies by vehicle, engine and towing package — read the manual's Fluid Capacities table.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 3 · SAE J1703
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- US-designed Jeep, Ram, Dodge and Chrysler models: 'Mopar DOT 3 Brake Fluid, SAE J1703'; manuals up to about 2019 add 'If DOT 3 ... is not available, then DOT 4 is acceptable'. The 2023-2024 Wrangler and 2023 Ram 1500 manuals print 'SAE J1709' — apparently a misprint for J1703 (later manuals print J1703 again). Italian-designed models (Renegade, Hornet, ProMaster, ProMaster City) take DOT 4 changed every two years — see their engine entries.
Used in: Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon 392 (2021-2024)
Manufacturer-published figures link to the maker's document. "Reported" figures come from a dealer or a parts catalog and haven't been confirmed by the maker. Nothing here has been checked against your car — confirm with your owner's manual or a dealer reading the VIN.
Common questions
What oil does a Jeep take?
It depends on the engine. Across the 16 Jeep engines we hold, the grades named are mostly 0W-20, 5W-20, 5W-40, with FCA MS-12991, FCA MS-13340, FCA MS-6395, Chrysler MS-6395. Find your engine above, or enter your VIN for the exact match.
How many quarts of oil does a Jeep take?
Between 4 and 9 quarts for an oil change with filter, depending on the engine — each engine's figure is listed above with its source.
Oil type and capacity by make
- Acura oil type and capacity
- Audi oil type and capacity
- BMW oil type and capacity
- Buick oil type and capacity
- Cadillac oil type and capacity
- Chevrolet oil type and capacity
- Chrysler oil type and capacity
- Dodge oil type and capacity
- Ford oil type and capacity
- Genesis oil type and capacity
- GMC oil type and capacity
- Honda oil type and capacity
- Hyundai oil type and capacity
- Infiniti oil type and capacity
- Jaguar oil type and capacity
- Kia oil type and capacity
- Land Rover oil type and capacity
- Lexus oil type and capacity
- Lincoln oil type and capacity
- Mazda oil type and capacity
- Mercedes-Benz oil type and capacity
- Mini oil type and capacity
- Mitsubishi oil type and capacity
- Nissan oil type and capacity
- Porsche oil type and capacity
- Ram oil type and capacity
- Subaru oil type and capacity
- Toyota oil type and capacity
- Volkswagen oil type and capacity
- Volvo oil type and capacity
- All makes — what type of oil does my car take?
- Maintenance schedule by VIN
- What should my tire pressure be?